Mirror, Mirror on the wall…..

                               “Mirror, mirror on the wall who is the fairest of them all”.

From a young age we loved the fairy tales and all the beautiful princesses and wanted to be beautiful like them. Do you ever ask yourself, why?

Today  I am preparing to meet with moms and daughters this weekend about skin care and what it means to be beautiful. Young girls and grown women are constantly being bombarded with our culture telling them how they need to look, how to dress and act to bring attention to themselves.

The verse I have been asked to talk about is 1 Samuel 16:7 But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

I am looking forward to this opportunity to share with these young ladies. It is so good to see moms love and concern for their daughters wanting them to know what true beauty is. I remember when I was younger and thought how I looked was most important. I based the way I felt or how my day went on my appearance, as long as I looked good it validated who I was. I even participated in beauty pageants to feel good about myself if I placed, or feel bad if I did not.

As I got older and gained weight, it was still a struggle for me.  I know I did not always reflect a positive image because of a focus on what I looked like.  I am so thankful to God for drawing me to Him and showing me beauty is not what I look like on the outside but what is inside. My relationship with Him was to be most important. Knowing who He said I was and who He created me to be, that my value is in Him, to reflect who He is and what He accomplished.

1 Peter 3:3, 4 says “Your beauty should not consist of outward things like elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold ornaments or fine clothes. Instead, it should consist of what is inside the heart with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very valuable in God’s eyes”

This does not mean you whisper when you talk, never have opinions, fun or not look your best. It means you trust God and accept what He has for you. It is being grateful and knowing what He is doing in your life is good. It is having confidence in Him and being who you already are because Jesus has made you new.  When we have a relationship with Him, His Spirit lives in us and grows us into the beautiful woman He intends for us to be, reflecting Him.

On this journey of living Inside Out, keep your focus on our Lord and what He has done for us. He makes us beautiful to reflect Him. We are changed from focusing on what we look like into a desire to serve Him and others. We need to leave a legacy for the younger ladies that Jesus is our passion, not our appearance.

2 Corinthians 3:17-18 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. We all, with unveiled faces, are looking as in a mirror at the glory of the Lord and are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory; this is from the Lord who is the Spirit.

The mirror we look to is Jesus, to reflect Him. By continually focusing on Him the Spirit transforms us more and more into His image.

Before we look into the mirror for our beauty, look to Jesus and the beauty He offers.

“Mirror, mirror on the wall who is the fairest of them all”

I would love to connect with you by clicking on the Facebook, Email or Twitter links on the sidebar.

 

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

12 Responses to Mirror, Mirror on the wall…..

  1. oh i just LOVED this one!

  2. Sara Koval says:

    What a great post Kim 🙂 I thought the scripture was just right for the message. I think we all as women let our looks and the expectations of today’s society get to us from time to time. Thank you for the reminder that true beauty does come from the heart and having His Spirit dwelling in us is what makes us whole.

    • kimlenon says:

      Thanks Sara ,it is a struggle sometimes not to conform to what the world says we should be. Thats why I love getting together with other women so we can encourage each other in the Word to be the beautiful women He has called us to be.

  3. Linda Williams says:

    Amen Kim, you are so right!!

  4. Great thoughts! I love the verse from 1 Peter, it’s one of my all time favorites. I love that word gentle, which is sometimes translated as meek- meaning power under control. What a neat picture for some of us more strong-willed women! Hope your time this weekend goes well!

    Thanks for linking up to FFF!

  5. Mia says:

    Hi Kim
    So nice to meet you at FFF! And with such a message, thank you! I know what your last mirror’s answer would be … our Lord Jesus, of course! I don’t think we can even begin to comprehend His royal beauty!
    Much love
    Mia

  6. marty says:

    So true! Our understanding of beauty and femininity is so skewed even within the Church…this is a message that we all need to hear and remind ourselves of.

  7. Such a great reminder for everyone! Great post!

Leave a Reply

