What Is In A Name?

nametag

Have you ever been in a store and ran into someone you are supposed to know and can’t remember their name? Or even more humiliating when you greet someone you thought you knew with a hug only to have them look at you with the deer in the headlight expression on their face and they are thinking “do I know you?”

When we first meet someone it doesn’t bother us they forgot our name but if there is an established relationship, like husband or best friend and they forget our name we can think what happened to this relationship? The closer you are in relationship with someone you know more than just their name, you know them because you spend time with them, desiring to learn about them and growing into a more intimate relationship.The same can be said in our relationship with God. We can develop a deeper relationship and intimacy with Him when we spend time getting to know Him.

O Lord, our Lord, How majestic is Your name in all the earth, Who have displayed Your splendor above the heavens!
(Pslam 8:1)

I have been asking myself do I spend more time making my name known or Gods. I want to magify God and His name, I want to get out of the way! I want my name to magnify Him, to bring Him glory!

God is known by many different names that show His character, power, who He is and what He does. I had a desire to know God more intimately and grown in my relationsihp with Him. He led me to study His names and it was life changing, every one drew me closer to Him as I learned to trust and grow in our relationship.

O magnify the Lord with me, And let us exalt His name together! (Psalm 34:3)

I would love to have you join me in a study of the names of God. Below is just a few thoughts on some of His names and a list of His names we will look at.

Elohim: Creator When I remember that He is the creator of all things then I do not need to struggle with my self- image, I can be thankful for “I am fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139)

El Elyon: God Most High He is sovereign, He is in charge and He is in control. Knowing this changes our perspective on everything. There is no need to fear what happens in our lives and family. Because He is in charge I can understand that “all things work together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).

Abba: Father, Daddy (Romans 8:15-17, Galatian 4:6) He is my perfect father; I can go to him anytime with anything.

Elohim,God, Mighty Creator Genesis 1

El Elyon,God Most High  Genesis 14

El Roi, God Who Sees  Genesis 16

El Shaddai ,God Almighty  Genesis 17

El Olam, The Everlasting God  Genesis 21

Adonai , Lord and Master   Genesis 15

Jehovah,  Self-existent One   Exodus 6

Jehovah-jireh, Lord Will Provide  Genesis 22

Jehovah-rapha, Lord Who Heals  Exodus 15

Jehovah–nissi, The Lord My Banner  Exodus 17

Jehovah-mekoddishkem,  The Lord Sanctifies You  Exodus 31

Jehovah-shalom,The Lord is Peace Judges 6

Jehovah-sabaoth,  The Lord of Hosts   1 Samuel 1

Jehovah-raah,  Lord my Shepherd    Psalm 23

Jehovah-tsidkeneu, Lord our Righteousness   Jeremiah 23

As we take time to get to know God by His names, learn His character and allow it to transform us we will magnify Him.  We will lean to look them up, study them, and pray to God by His name for whatever circumstance we are in. And we will see Jesus shadowed in all these names! We will get to know the God who knows us and loves us with an everlasting love.

It has transformed my perspective, my life and how I pray and I know it will transform you to.

O magnify the Lord with me, And let us exalt His name together! (Psalm 34:3)

Please let me know your thoughts and if you will join me in this study.

If you would like a book to further your study I recommend “Lord I Want To Know You” by Kay Arthur.

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

8 Responses to What Is In A Name?

  1. This is great Kim, and would make a great series! You could do a post on each name and how to apply it to our lives as women!

  2. Shirley Clifford says:

    Kim, this is very good! I love the name’s of God and what they mean. Yes, it will transform our lives. God has given you the gift of writing and teaching. Love you!

  3. Cathy Post says:

    Thank you for taking the time to write the names of Jesus. It helped me to just stop and worship. I am going to share this with Shannon now and help her find all the Scriptures when she is ready. Once again, great job.

  4. Mia says:

    Hi Kim
    Isn’t it wonderful to know how majestic our Pappa God is! But best of all for me is the fact that although all these names gives a better understanding of His character, first and foremost, He is love. Linking with you today at Ruth’s!
    Much love
    Mia

  5. Falen says:

    I looooove studying the different names of God and how they reveal his character. I’m reading a book now called “I am not but I know I AM” about God saying “tell them I AM.” He is!! It’s really broadening my view of God. I mean really, he’s as big as it gets, right? But, still even more bigger than that is our God!! Glad I stopped by from #FaithFilledFriday. I ‘Liked’ ya on Facebook, so I’ll be back. 🙂

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Falen, thank you so much for stopping by and your comments! I know the first time and each time I study His names it is life changing, He truly is an awesome God!
      I started an online study that began with Wednesdays post “Why Study the Names of God. I would love for you to check it out and participate!
      I look forward to going to your blog and keeping in touch!
      Kim

  6. Pingback: Why Study the Names of God | Inside Out

Leave a Reply

