Soul Food

Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God. Matthew 4:4

If we take the time to nourish our souls then whatever we do will be done out of a heart that is right with the Lord. It affects all we do and how we interact with those around us. It is so easy to get wrapped up loving our children and husband, meeting their needs and the busyness of everyday life that we neglect ourselves and time with the Lord. We need to remember that we belong to Jesus first, then to our husband, children and other activities. It is important that our lives revolve around Christ and when we focus on Him, our marriage and parenting will benefit.

I understand how busy life gets with a family. Time with the Lord should not to be one more thing to check off the list, something “I have to do.” It should be a desire to spend that time with Jesus as much as we desire our favorite comfort food. It is the realization that this time is more important than what food we will eat , this is the food that nourishes our soul.

I remember reading this quote from Elizabeth George when my children were young , “Something is better than nothing, always aim for more.” I find this so encouraging. Don’t think “I can’t spend time with the Lord because there are not enough hours in my day.” You can always find some time with the goal of one day being able to increase it.

foodforyoursoul

Following are a few tips and a place to start for those busy days to help keep your focus on Him:

  •  Pick a passage or verse for the week, read it, think on it, memorize it, journal it and act on it. If you are struggling with an issue, for example anger look up those verses for the week. The living active Word applied changes us.
  • If you like a Bible study book, Precepts No Homework 40 minute Bible studies are great. The scripture is written in the book with questions and application. You are spending time in the Word, allowing God to speak to you and when you do it by yourself, it won’t take 40 minutes.
  •  Pick a good Bible for the children, such as The Jesus Storybook Bible, read the story with them, think on that passage and discuss it all week.
  •  Listen to praise and worship music in the car and around the house. You will find yourself thinking of the words, which is usually scripture throughout your day.
  •  An audio Bible is very good to listen to as you drive or go about your day. One friend even “peddled through the gospels” on her stationary bike each day. As she was exercising she heard God’s Word and lost weight.
  •  Something as simple as your passwords being a verse or phrase you want to remember. Each time you log into the various sights you are thinking on it.
  •  Take advantage of their nap times to spend with the Lord if you can’t do it before they wake up. If your children are older have quiet time with them. You will be teaching them the value of spending time with God and His Word.
  •  Evaluate how much time you are on the computer, doing busy work, watching TV, etc…compared to being in God’s Word.
  • Have a Bible beside your bed so you can reach for it first thing in the morning or last thing at night to read
  • Pick a good book to enhance your bible reading. Currently I am reading According To Plan, The Unfolding Revelation of God In The Bible by Graeme Goldsworthy.
  • A good devotional book that takes you into the word is helpful. A few I recommend are New Morning Mercies by Paul David Tripp, Morning and Evening by Charles Spurgeon and My Upmost For His Highest by Oswald Chambers.

Is there a small change you can make? It is vital to your walk with God to spend time with Him. Your family will learn to love God and His Word by watching you and your passion for Him. This is the true “soul food”.

What are some ideas that work for you? I would love to hear them!

Remember: SOMETHING IS BETTER THAN NOTHING ALWAYS AIM FOR MORE.

I would love to connect with you on Facebook, Email or Twitter- the links are on the sidebar.

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

8 Responses to Soul Food

  1. Mia says:

    Hi Kim
    I found your blog at Ruth’s Grace Laced Mondays. You seem like a wise lady! Time spent with Him can only be from a heart of love. He said that He wouldn’t listen to the Israelites’ prayers, tithes and offerings, because their hearts were far away from Him.
    Much love
    Mia

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Mia,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and your comments. I know the older I have gotten the more I see it matters we spend time with the Word and in the word!
      God Bless!

  2. jeanna says:

    Love “soul food”! One thing I would share as a mom with young ones is- time in the word doesn’t always have to be time alone. I have learned bible verses by teaching them to my kids. And often recap things I have read during my quiet times retelling them to my kids. It does effect how we live! I know I need to guard this time! So easily busy tasks can take away our time from the Lord & rob us of our joy. Thanks:))

    • kimlenon says:

      Jeanna, thank you so much for your comments! I love your thoughts on including your kids during this time! That is one way they see what it is like to have a relationship with Jesus.

  3. Angie says:

    Thank you for a wonderful message & great tips on keep God #1.
    I’m stopping by from Faith filled Friday blog hop – this is my blog if you wanted to stop by:
    godsgrowinggarden.com
    Thanks
    Angie

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Angie, thanks for stopping by and your comments and I will stop by your blog. I am thankful for the Faith Filled Friday blog link up so we can all find each other.

      Blessings, Kim

  4. Hi Kim! I am coming over from Unite!

    I really like this post. The list of tips for busy days are just easy adjustments to put myself back in the Lord’s presence. It’s so encouraging to hear that little steps get us forward, because I think it’s really true. Try to do too much, and you can get discouraged.

    So nice to meet you today!
    Ceil

  5. thanks for linking up Kim!

Leave a Reply

