Pressure

It is a chilly evening as I zip up my coat and head to the studio after work. I am documenting my husband’s progress on his new music album and the last player is recording tonight.

The cellist is our friend and he is amazing. When good players perform they make you smile. When great players perform they make you want to happy cry.

I come in the door on their break – taking pictures and listening to mixes. I hold my breath when they push record so I won’t be overheard. I would have held my breath anyway. John is gifted.

The sound of the bow stirs up emotion. Those strings are me this week. A bow of pressure and demands. Disappointment. Ruined things. Feeling like I am not getting anywhere.

Will I resist and try to control? Or will I bend to be flexible with the pressure?

Pressure… Paul, of the Bible, faced shipwrecks, stoning, hunger, and so much more than I.

“We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt we had received the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.” I Cor 1.8-9

How can I keep going when I want to give up? How can I keep my thoughts from returning to – “If you didn’t have this volunteer thing going, life would be so much easier?”

“…the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ…” (I Cor 1.3-5)

The jotted lines play across the pro-tools screen – coloring scribbles on sound paths. The technician, my husband, and the cellist paint with sound. They start talking techie and I leave as they work long into the night.

Lines from the song, “Bless, Break, and Give” float me home in my car and I remember the hand, the bow, and the string. Without pressure there wouldn’t be any beauty … any music.

It is a chilly evening as I zip up my coat and head to the studio after work. I am documenting my husband’s progress on his new music album and the last player is recording tonight.

The cellist is our friend and he is amazing. When good players perform they make you smile. When great players perform they make you want to happy cry.

I come in the door on their break – taking pictures and listening to mixes. I hold my breath when they push record so I won’t be overheard. I would have held my breath anyway. John is gifted.

The sound of the bow stirs up emotion. Those strings are me this week. A bow of pressure and demands. Disappointment. Ruined things. Feeling like I am not getting anywhere.

Will I resist and try to control? Or will I bend to be flexible with the pressure?

Pressure… Paul, of the Bible, faced shipwrecks, stoning, hunger, and so much more than I.

“We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt we had received the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.” I Cor 1.8-9

How can I keep going when I want to give up? How can I keep my thoughts from returning to – “If you didn’t have this volunteer thing going, life would be so much easier?”

“…the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ…” (I Cor 1.3-5)

The jotted lines play across the pro-tools screen – coloring scribbles on sound paths. The technician, my husband, and the cellist paint with sound. They start talking techie and I leave as they work long into the night.

Lines from the song, “Bless, Break, and Give” float me home in my car and I remember the hand, the bow, and the string. Without pressure there wouldn’t be any beauty … any music.

This is a guest post from Amber Robinson  www.amberrobinson.com

“When it comes to hard things, I am a reforming coward. I will not see Hotel Rwanda, no matter how many friends insist. The one time I gave in to a similar movie (a decade ago) I found myself violently crying in the theater bathroom stalls and forced myself to walk back in long enough to retrieve my husband. I won’t watch video clips replaying tsunamis, earthquakes, or the like.

The irony is that I speak up for vulnerable children with Compassion International, help educate others to spot signs of trafficking in their own cities, and find peace in my backyard organic garden. Seems unlikely. When people have told me they themselves can’t be involved in justice issues –“It must be your thing”– I don’t believe them. Anyone can walk justly. I have learned the secret that in the most unlikely of places there is hope, joy, light, and real community. I am an imperfect Christ follower and reluctantly optimistic.

I am an ordinary woman seeking to bridge the gap between the needs for justice and balancing family, work, and service. I began this journey when chronic illness forced me to reevaluate my priorities. I network with leaders in the justice movement as well as ordinary people with limitations in time, resources, and energy but long to make a difference in simple, practical ways.

How can we move beyond graphic images and staggering statistics? Where can we read hope’s stories? Find practical ways to help? Where can we dream again that creative innovation trumps suffering?”

Leave a commet to win Ambers book Mercy Rising .

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

Leave a Reply

