Hungry?

bread

What are you really hungry for and how do you satisfy that hunger?

John 6 is a rich chapter that begins with Jesus feeding the 5000+, setting the stage for Jesus’s teaching that He is the Bread of Life.

6:35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst

6:48 I am the bread of life.

Do you ever stop to think why bread?

Jesus said a few things about bread:

6:51 I am the living bread that came down out of heaven; if anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread also which I will give for the life of the world is My flesh.”

6:53 -58So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in yourselves. He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. For My flesh is true food, and My blood is true drink.  He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him. As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats Me, he also will live because of Me.  This is the bread which came down out of heaven; not as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live forever.”

What does Jesus mean when he says “eat this bread”?

Jesus is using a metaphor, a figure of speech in which a term or phrase is applied to something to which it is not literally applicable in order to suggest a resemblance.

For example,
“I am so hungry I could eat a horse” or “Let me chew on this awhile”.  Metaphors are in scripture too, like Psalm 34:8 “Taste and see that the Lord is good” and Jeremiah 15:16 “Your words were found and I ate them, and Your words became for me a joy and the delight of my heart;”

To feast on Him means to take all of him as if you were “eating” him.  To know that He is the only source of spiritual life and the only one that sustains life.  He begins that life in us and daily sustains us. Earthly bread may sustain life but it cannot bring what the True Bread from heaven brings, eternal life.

Are you going to Him and in His Word as your daily bread to be satisfied and filled?

Are you going to other sources like like you would “junk food” “white bread” or “leftovers” trying to be satisfied and filled but left empty?

bread not cake

Just like when you eat really good, whole grain as opposed to white, refined bread there are many healthful benefits. If all you eat is the white stuff, you will never be satisfied and left hungry for more. Feast on Jesus and and be in the word daily to be fed with the bread that will never leave your hungry!

What one change can you make in your daily diet to “feast on Jesus” and satisfy your hunger?

I would love to connect with you by Facebook, Email or Twitter by clicking on the links in the sidebar!

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

5 Responses to Hungry?

  1. Love the quote above in the picture “The Bible is meant to be bread for daily use, not cake for special occasions”. What a wonderful word picture that paints for me. It does make such a difference when I spend each day with him versus being haphazard about my time with the Lord. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Great post! Thanks for linking up…I’m going to share this post on my FB page!

  3. Thanks for linking up with me Kim! You know how much I love our studies in John!

Leave a Reply

