No Longer Gullible

Are we so busy preforming and providing programs all in the name of God that we have not had the time to truly study His Word? To not only study, but allow it to change us and those we minister to.

A survey showed that 80 percent of those who went to church and heard the gospel quit going within a few months because they said they saw no difference in the lives of the “Christians” and those who are not.

This is so sad and something that needs to be changed. Why is there no difference between the lives of Christians and non- Christians when we have  many churches that offer every type of program from bible studies to various self-help classes, outreaches, retreats and community service along with Sunday worship?

Do you think that the emphasis is placed upon the wrong thing? Are these programs focusing on what ministers to felt needs,such as physical, emotional, financial and recreational of the people? Have we forgotten their greatest need is spiritual?

In thinking about this I am reminded of 2 Timothy 3:6-7 which follows a list of characteristics in verses 1-5 of people who do not follow God. Verse 5 says they are” holding to a form of godliness, although they have denied its power” and tells us to avoid them. In other words they have their religion and rituals but deny the life changing power of God’s grace. They do not have the relationship that only comes from the Gospel.

Why does it say to avoid them? In verses 6-7 I believe there is a warning to us “For among them are those who enter into households and captivate weak women weighed down with sins, led on by various impulses, always learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.”

When we study it is important that we look at the key words to see what the verse is saying:

Enter:  Literally to creep, to slip in, to enter secretly with methods to entrap. They are continually stealthily sneaking (present tense) into households, creeping in undetected.

Captivate: be taken, conquered, carry off as a prisoner, to get control and influence over.  This is also present tense, which indicates a continual practice.

Weak: is used to describe silly, gullible, vulnerable and foolish woman.  While this term is not meant to describe all women, in context it does describe women who are unusually gullible.  The principle applies generally to all those who are easily led and easily confused.

Led on:  passive voice and indicates the effect of the leading is being exerted by another force, in this case their “impulses” and cravings that determine their conduct.

Learning: to gain knowledge ,understanding of or skill in by study, instruction, or experience. At every opportunity these women are eager to receive instruction. It is in the present tense which emphasizes that this “learning” was their continual pursuit, always seeking instruction, inquiring and getting information, always learning something new and following new teachings.

 Never able: literally not  ever and suggests an abiding inability on the part of these weak willed, gullible women to come to a ” precise and experiential knowledge of the truth” of the Gospel.

In looking at these verses there are some questions we need to ask ourselves and give honest answers.

Have I let false teachers and their teaching creep into my home and life and am I being influenced by them?

Am I “always learning but never able to come to the knowledge of the truth”?

Why do I attend Bible studies?

Am I following a Bible study leader or am I in the Word for myself?

Do I find myself always gaining knowledge but never changing, still weighed down and led on by my own impulses and desires?

It is vital that we spend time truthfully answering these questions because our answers will reveal what is in our heart and what needs to change.

The great news is there is always hope and we find it in 3: 16 ,17

16 All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; 17 so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.

All Scripture is literally “God breathed” and here it lists 4 things that it is profitable for:

Teaching: God’s Word teaches us with absolute authority what is right.

Reproof: It convicts us when we think, say or do something wrong.

Correction: Scripture shows us how to correct what we have done wrong and make it right.

Training in righteousness: The Word of God trains us, showing us how to do it right the first time.

And the result is that we may be, adequate: exactly fitted and equipped: completely qualified so we can accomplish our destined purpose.

I used to be one of those gullible women. I wanted to change and be different but the change would never last. I read the self -help books, watched the talk shows, took classes, attended church and Bible studies faithfully. I learned a lot but  still struggled with and was weighed down my emotions and expectations. Why did I not have lasting change?

It was not until God, by His wonderful grace showed me truth in His Word. How it is all sufficient and powerful. As I began to be consistently in His Word, allowing it to speak to me, He enabled me to apply it and truly change.

Take time to be in the Word for yourself, allowing it to change you by applying it. It is so easy to follow a teacher and learn what God has shown them instead of using them as a guide to take you into the Bible and learn for yourself. In His word we see who God is and who He says you are in Him.

Truly learning and applying the Scripture is the only way not to be gullible and led astray by those who can “creep” into our homes, keeping us in bondage and failure, never truly changing.

God’s Word applied changes us from the Inside Out!

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

11 Responses to No Longer Gullible

  1. Best post yet Kim~

  2. Tracy Munoz says:

    I stopped going to Church because it was centered on 45 minutes of music, flashing lights etc like we were at a concert or at American Idol lol instead of Church ! I would have been okay with it all but when you only give 15 or 20 minutes to preaching and most it not from scriptures but about him and his experiences we stopped going ! 😦

  3. Shirley Clifford says:

    Very good Kim! I am so thankful I have the Lord in my life, and the Word of God to guide me daily.I am so proud of you and your love for the Word of God.

    Mom

  4. mezeller says:

    Excellent, Kim! And a confirmation and reinforcement of what He has been teaching me. I thank God for you and the way you allow Him to shine through you. He is using you to bless many.

  5. Cathy post says:

    I really hear your passion in wanting women to spend their own time with God and not just to depend on a Bible study teacher or preacher to lead and teach them what God has for them. You and I have talked in the past about how dangerous it can be when people just depend on someone to tell them what God has to teach them instead of seeking God’s truth for themselves. I think this blog is very well spoken and I know I have taken even more to heart and will take it before God to see where I may still be gullible. Thank you for the time you spend with Jesus so you can be an encouragement and faithful servant of our LORD. Love you.

  6. amber@mercyrising says:

    I agree. Something that enhances this is to worship first before the readings. It helps me worship God with my heart. (Yes, actually singing and not just listening) this gives me the strength when I am tired to Love God with all my mind. (Heart and mind and strength)

  7. kimlenon says:

    Reblogged this on Inside Out and commented:

    It’s vital that we know God’s Word for ourselves.

  8. kim says:

    Kim, this is a great post. I’ve just learned how to really look at the key words in the verses I’m studying. And I can so relate and appreciate your thoughts on taking time to be in the word myself, vs. just reading about it and listening to what others are saying about His word. Thank you for the inspiration!

  9. Pingback: Know What You Believe-(and a book giveaway) | Inside Out

Leave a Reply

