“I Am the Door”

“I Am the door of the sheep”.

We looked at” I Am the Bread “and “I Am the Light of the world” which can be found in the archives. Today we will look at Jesus third saying, “I Am the door of the sheep”.

So Jesus said to them again, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.  All who came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them.  I am the door; if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly. (John 10:7-10)

Do you ever wonder why he said door?

A door, especially a red one was a welcome invitation to all who were lost, weary or in need of rescue and ultimately a sign of God’s love.

In Exodus we find the first mention of red doors. Moses was sent by God to deliver His people enslaved by Pharaoh. He continually refused to let the Israelites go so God sent a final plague, the death of the firstborn son. The blood of a sacrificed, pure, spotless lamb was painted on the doors as a sign of God’s covenant with them. Those inside the blood, painted doors were rescued, saved from death.

This was a glimpse of the future when Jesus, God’s pure, spotless lamb (John 1) would come to rescue, save us from the enemy of sin and death by shedding his blood.

11 “I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep. 12 He who is a hired hand, and not a shepherd, who is not the owner of the sheep, sees the wolf coming, and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them. 13 He flees because he is a hired hand and is not concerned about the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd, and I know My own and My own know Me, 15 even as the Father knows Me and I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep. 16 I have other sheep, which are not of this fold; I must bring them also, and they will hear My voice; and they will become one flock with one shepherd. 17 For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life so that I may take it again. 18 No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.” (John 10:11-18)

Jesus laid down his life for his sheep. He is the only way to salvation, true freedom and rescue. His blood “paints” us red and we are free from the enemy of sin and death.

John 10:9- Jesus is the door and those who enter through him will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.

As believers our salvation is secure, we enter into fellowship with Him, are protected from the enemy, nourished and painted red by His blood.  We then are to go out and tell others about Him, offering hope, a place of refuge and telling them how they can be rescued…… because there is only one door.

 “Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it (Matthew 7:13-14)

Therefore, brethren, since we have confidence to enter the holy place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way which He inaugurated for us through the veil, that is, His flesh, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.  Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful;and let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds,  not forsaking our own assembling together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another; and all the more as you see the day drawing near. (Hebrews 10:19-25)

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

Leave a Reply

