The Good Shepherd

good shepherd

This is the fourth in the series of the I Am statements of Jesus.

In John 10:11-18, 26-30 Jesus says He is the good Shepherd and we are his sheep.

“I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep. He who is a hired hand, and not a shepherd, who is not the owner of the sheep, sees the wolf coming, and leaves the sheep and flees, and the wolf snatches them and scatters them.  He flees because he is a hired hand and is not concerned about the sheep.  I am the good shepherd, and I know My own and My own know Me, even as the Father knows Me and I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep.  I have other sheep, which are not of this fold; I must bring them also, and they will hear My voice; and they will become one flock with one shepherd.  For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life so that I may take it again.  No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father….But you do not believe because you are not of My sheep. My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me;  and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand.  My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.  I and the Father are one.”

What do we learn in these verses about the good shepherd and His sheep?

1. He is good. He has the best in mind for the sheep. He is not like the hired hand in the previous verses that is only concerned about himself.

2. He lays down His life for the sheep willingly. No one takes it away from him but he lays it down and has authority to take it up again.

3. He knows his own sheep and they know and will follow him. They will be in relationship with him as he is with the Father.

4.  He has other sheep (Gentiles) which are not of this fold (Jewish), that he must bring them in also. They too will hear his voice and will become one flock with one shepherd.

5. His sheep will believe, hear his voice and follow him.

6. He gives his sheep eternal life and no one will ever snatch them out of His or the Fathers hand.

Not only is Jesus the good Shepherd but he is also the Lamb of God.

Isaiah 53:4-12 “Surely our griefs He Himself bore, and our sorrows He carried;
yet we ourselves esteemed Him stricken, Smitten of God, and afflicted.
But He was pierced through for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities;
The chastening for our well-being fell upon Him, And by His scourging we are healed.
 All of us like sheep have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way;
But the Lord has caused the iniquity of us all to fall on Him.

He was oppressed and He was afflicted, Yet He did not open His mouth;
Like a lamb that is led to slaughter, And like a sheep that is silent before its shearers, So He did not open His mouth.”

John 1:29, 36 “Behold, the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world!

1 Peter 1:18-19 “knowing that you were not redeemed with perishable things like silver or gold from your futile way of life inherited from your forefathers,  but with precious blood, as of a lamb unblemished and spotless, the blood of Christ.”

1 Peter 2:21-25  “For you have been called for this purpose, since Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example for you to follow in His steps, who committed no sin, nor was any deceit found in His mouth;  and while being reviled, He did not revile in return; while suffering, He uttered no threats, but kept entrusting Himself to Him who judges righteously;  and He Himself bore our sins in His body on the cross, so that we might die to sin and live to righteousness; for by His wounds you were healed.  For you were continually straying like sheep, but now you have returned to the Shepherd and Guardian of your souls”.

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd,
I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside quiet waters.
He restores my soul;
He guides me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil, for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You have anointed my head with oil;
My cup overflows.
 Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

In the last post we saw that Jesus is the Door of the sheep and now we see that he is the good Shepherd and the Lamb of God! This is so encouraging! He is the only way to the Father. He leads us to salvation, through Himself and he leads and guides us in our daily lives. If you are his lamb and He is your Shepherd you will hear his voice and follow. You can trust him and his care for you and rest in the fact that you are secure in him!

What does this mean to you that Jesus is the Door, the Shepherd and the Lamb?

Are you following and listening to the Good Shepherd as closely as a lamb?

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

Leave a Reply

