God’s Big Picture

the promised one book

Then beginning with Moses and with all the prophets, He explained to them the things concerning Himself in all the Scriptures. And they approached the village where they were going, and He acted as though He were going farther. But they urged Him, saying, “Stay with us, for it is getting toward evening, and the day is now nearly over.” So He went in to stay with them. When He had reclined at the table with them, He took the bread and blessed it, and breaking it, He began giving it to them. Then their eyes were opened and they recognized Him; and He vanished from their sight. They said to one another, “Were not our hearts burning within us while He was speaking to us on the road, while He was explaining the Scriptures to us?”….. Now He said to them, “These are My words which I spoke to you while I was still with you, that all things which are written about Me in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” Then He opened their minds to understand the Scriptures (Luke 24:27-32, 44-45)

I want my heart to burn as I see this story of God and what he is accomplishing in us through Christ. I don’t want to read a little Scripture and take away inspirational thoughts or pluck verses out of context to make me feel good or meet a need I may have. I don’t want to use it only as a guidebook on how to live or to just settle for knowledge and doctrine. I want to see and understand God’s big picture and who He wants me to see….Jesus!

Jesus is all over the Old Testament and we will begin by seeing him in Genesis. I plan to cover a chapter each week on the blog as an online study and would love to have you join in! I would love to dig into the word together and my prayer is that God will open our eyes and minds to see Jesus and make our hearts burn!

To enter the give-away please leave a comment below.
A winner will be drawn at random midnight tonight.
(If you do not win this would be a great book to purchase.)

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

38 Responses to God’s Big Picture

  1. I don’t have this book, but would LOVE it! It sounds like a great read!

  2. Love recommendations on new titles!

  3. Betsy Durand says:

    Don’t have this one, but love Nancy Guthrie! Thank you for offering such a wonderful resource as a giveaway!

  4. tiffanyacuff says:

    Looks like a fantastic study that I’d love to dig into! Thanks for resourcing those around you!

  5. I enjoy Guthrie and would live to win this one! Adding it to my wish list!

  6. Katrina says:

    I have been trying to read the Old Testament and sometimes it’s a struggle. This book would be great!

  7. Angela Robbins says:

    Oh I love this! I have been studying on this subject lately. Would love to win this book! When do you plan on starting the study? Would be interested to follow along 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!

    • kimlenon says:

      Angela, isn’t it great to study this! I plan on starting this in the near future. You can sign up to receive the blog post by email or like my facebook page to get updates.

  8. Lisa matheny says:

    Want to dig deeper!

  9. Aileen says:

    As a mom of a disabled child, I have been so encouraged by Nancy Guthrie’s words on suffering and trials. I have listened to some of her presentations online, but not read one of her books yet. This one sounds wonderful!

  10. Marijo says:

    This book looks wonderful. I’d love to win a copy.

  11. chris says:

    You are touching lives beyond your imagination. Thank you, Kim!

  12. Barbara Mack says:

    Place me in the drawing please and thank you.

  13. Elizabeth says:

    Sounds great. Count me in, please. 🙂

  14. Anna says:

    I just finished reading Nancy Guthrie’s “Come Thou Long Expected Jesus”. This sounds like an incredible book as well!

  15. Sarah Poling says:

    Sounds interesting! Would love to win!

  16. Rebecca Ramsey says:

    Nancy Guthrie is one of my favorite authors.

  17. amber@mercyrising says:

    Yes, God’s long awaited, true promises.

  18. Lynn Workley says:

    I’m sure this is a great ….I like her books.

  19. Joyce Totaro says:

    Would love to read this book!

  20. Mimi says:

    This sounds like an interesting read–maybe one for my women’s Bible study?

  21. Velma says:

    In 2013 I want to know Him more through the Word….that my eyes would truly see His glory.

  22. Sounds like a great book. Would love to win it.

  23. kimlenon says:

    Thank you everyone who commented and entered the giveaway! The winner will be emailed. Like my facebook page or sign up to receive the email posts for more information on when the online study will start.

Leave a Reply

