Stressed?

4513-cat-stressed

I have been reading through Habakkuk and I am challenged and encouraged by his example and trust in God.
Habakkuk was in distress because he knew what was coming and it was bad:

I heard and my inward parts trembled,
At the sound my lips quivered.
Decay enters my bones,
And in my place I tremble.
Because I must wait quietly for the day of distress,
For the people to arise who will invade us.
Though the fig tree should not blossom
And there be no fruit on the vines,
Though the yield of the olive should fail
And the fields produce no food,
Though the flock should be cut off from the fold
And there be no cattle in the stalls,
Yet I will exult in the LORD,
I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.
The Lord GOD is my strength,
And He has made my feet like hinds’ feet,
And makes me walk on my high places.
(Habakkuk 3:16-19)

What can we learn from Habakkuk on how to handle fear and distress?

He was so scared that his belly trembled and his lips quivered, it made him sick because he knew what was coming and he had to wait for it.

Instead of giving in to his fear and trembling he turned his thoughts to God and His sovereignty. He knew who was in control of the situation, no matter how devastating it was.

Because of this he could praise and exult in the Lord, the God of his salvation.

He knew the Lord was his strength and that he would take care of him and give him what he needed in the crisis.

Looking back to Habakkuk 2:4 -“The righteous will live by his faith” is evidenced in how he responded to this situation. Habakkuk was not trusting in his own righteousness or ability to handle the situation but in God.

We can get through whatever comes our way because God makes us righteous. He gives us the faith first to trust him for our salvation then to trust Him in all circumstances.

Oh to be a Habakkuk-to respond with trust and praise to God in everything, living Inside Out!

I would love to connect with you on Facebook, Email and Twitter-the links are on the sidebar!

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

12 Responses to Stressed?

  1. Liz says:

    Thank you for this!! 🙂 It really touched my heart today!

  2. denabob says:

    Amen to this!!! I can’t imagine looking at such devastation and being able to praise him – yet……. I know when I’m going through something ugly, I’m really hoping God will make it good….But to know and be assured that it will be awful and still be held by Him in His strength….. I long for that faith! Thanks, Kim!

  3. Melissa Ray says:

    Amen! This is a great reminder of God’s sovereignty in all circumstances and that nothing happens that He does t ordain! But He is loving and good and gives the faith we need to get through and to grow. To Him be the glory!

  4. Joy Lenton says:

    Hi Kim. This is a timely word for me. I really needed to hear this great reminder of God’s continual faithfulness and provision in our bleakest circumstances. My husband and I are going through some really tough challenges at the moment and these words have helped lift my spirits. With natural sight all may look dire and unredeemable. Yet eyes of faith ‘see’ the help and blessing being manifested before it arrives. Such inspirational trust as Habakkuk demonstrates here is something we can all hope to emulate in our walk of faith. Thank you for being such a blessing 🙂

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Joy, thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your heart! I am so glad you were encouraged. It is comforting to know that He is Sovereign over all and none of this takes Him by surprise. He will work it all out for good according to His purpose. I am so thankful for those like Habakkuk who are examples to us.
      Praying for you and your husband right now.
      God Bless

  5. susan says:

    I found you through Faith Filled Friday.. such an encouraging message. My biggest struggle is stress, anxiety, fear but it is an incredible reminder that we have a God that is greater than any of those problems. Thank you!

  6. Thought provoking message – God is control – regardless of the devastation we can still have hope..Thank you for the reminder

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Lori, thank you so much for stopping by and your comments! You are so right, God is in control and we can have hope regardless of the circumstances. I am so thankful for that.
      God Bless

Leave a Reply

