Remember Who You Are

identity-christ

Do you ever struggle with your identity?

Do you ask yourself “who am I” or “do I have a purpose”?

When I struggle or doubt who I am, I go to God’s word to remind me of the truth.

In Ephesians 1:1-14 Paul is blessing God for blessing us with every spiritual blessing in Christ. These blessings are our identity when we are in relationship with God.

It is not what the world, others or we tell ourselves. We have to believe what God says.

Who are we from Ephesians 1:1-14?
Chosen before the foundation of the world to be holy and blameless!
We have been predestined to be adopted in love by His will!
We have grace freely given and lavished on us!
We are redeemed!
We are forgiven!
He made know to us the mystery of His will!
We have an inheritance!
We have been predestined according to His purpose!
We are sealed with the Holy Spirit!
WHY?
Verse 4 and 12 tells us so we would be holy and blames before Him and for God’s glory and praise!

Oh friends, isn’t that encouraging! Our identity is not in who we are, who we have been, what we can do or have done. It is in what God did through Jesus!

Our purpose is to live for God, to bring Him praise and glory. He brings us into relationship with Him by His grace not our works. We are His workmanship, literally masterpiece created in Christ Jesus for good works that God prepared for us to walk in. (Ephesians 2:8-10)

Are you letting the world identify you or God?

What can you do to apply these truths about who you are in Jesus?

If you find yourself down, doubting who you are or if you have a purpose go to Scripture and praise God for what He has done in Christ and remind yourself of who you are in Him!
As God’s beautiful masterpiece-walk in that truth!

This is living Inside Out!

I would love to connect with you on Facebook, Twitter and Email-the links are on the sidebar.

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

12 Responses to Remember Who You Are

  1. Definitely needed to read this at this point in my journey– thank you so much!

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi, I am so glad you stopped by! I know I need to be reminded from time to time who we are in Christ! Isn’t great how much God loves and adopted us into His family!
      God Bless,
      Kim

  2. Maranne123 says:

    Very good Kim! Love you!

  3. Christina says:

    I am often forgetful about who I am. This passage in Ephesians points me back to where I need to be. Love these truths here! Thanks!

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Christina,
      Thanks for the comments! I often forget too and need to be reminded. I love God’s word so much because it is active and powerful and always points us to the Father.
      Have a great weekend!

  4. SO true! I needed this today. Awesome how God so gently draws us and teaches us in small steps.He knows what we need to hear, and when we need to hear so we will HEAR it 😀
    Have a blessed weekend!

  5. Amber says:

    God defines our self -worth, not the world or even us. I love this verse.

  6. kimlenon says:

    Reblogged this on Inside Out and commented:

    I needed this reminder today to remember who I am in Christ! I am God’s adopted daughter and my identity is found in Him, not in anything or anyone else.

  7. Christina says:

    I love that passage from Ephesians. Praying that I would listen to my Creator tell me who I am rather than the world. Great post, Kim!

Leave a Reply

