Abide

abide

“I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit, He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit, He prunes it so that it may bear more fruit. You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. If anyone does not abide in Me, he is thrown away as a branch and dries up; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire and they are burned. If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit, and so prove to be My disciples. Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love. If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full. (John 15:1-11)

Abiding in the True Vine- Jesus is vital to our growth and daily living. He says we are to abide in Him, His words and His love many times in these 11 verses.

What does it mean to abide? The Greek word is menō : to remain, stay, continue.

From this passage we see that if we abide in the true vine-Jesus we will bear much fruit, glorify the Father and be full of joy.

In examining our lives are there other things that we abide in other than Jesus?

What were the results?

I know that at times I have abided in other things except Him. These were expectations, loneliness, missing my family, other people and busyness. The result was not bearing any fruit only frustration, sadness, lack of motivation and self –focus. And of course there was no joy or glorifying God.

Like branches that are totally dependent upon the vine to grow and live we are totally dependent on the true vine-Jesus for our life and growth. Anyone that replaces abiding in Jesus for something else will begin a process of withering and unfruitfulness.

I am so thankful that God does not let us stay in that condition! The Holy Spirit abides in and shows us when we are not abiding in Jesus. The Father, who is the vinedresser, owns and oversees the “vineyard” to bring forth the fruit that He has planned and purposed. He does this by pruning us to be more fruitful. This is a painful and much needed process in order to produce fruit and receive from the vine what is necessary for growth. He is always faithful when we are faithless.

In the same way that the life-giving, fruit producing fluids flow from the vine to the branches, we need the truth of the Scriptures to flows through us by the Spirit. This vital connection is established and maintained only through abiding in the True Vine and the word.

Are you are lacking fruit or joy?

What or who are you abiding in?

What changes can you make to abide in the True Vine?

We are to abide in Him to bear much fruit, so that our prayers are in line with His will, we glorify the Father and show others we are His disciples.

I would love to connect with you on Facebook, Email or Twitter. The links are on the sidebar.

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

5 Responses to Abide

  1. Maranne123 says:

    Very good Kim! I have always loved John 15:1-11.

  2. I find myself continually running back to the Lord when life gets rough, but I know know I need to work on abiding in Him, even when things are going well. Thanks for sharing this and reminding me….
    Ann @ Christ in the Clouds

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Ann, Thanks for stopping by and your comments! I know when I realize what consumes my thoughts that is usually what I am abiding in. You are so right, we need to abide in good and bad times.

      Blessing, Kim

  3. susan says:

    Great post! So many times my thoughts consume me – and it’s not always in Him. Very convicting…

Leave a Reply

