Self Control

selfcontrol

Have you ever been in a discussion or a situation with your husband, your children a friend or even someone you don’t know very well and all at once you feel you are going to “lose it”?

It can be hard to have self-control when it seems like everything is falling apart or someone else does things we don’t like and our emotions quickly get the best of us. When this happens and I feel like I want to react according to my feelings I have a choice. The choice is to lose self-control and suffer the consequences or act upon the power that is within me.

I had this conversation with my very mature 10 ½ year old granddaughter last week. She has 2 younger brothers that can really get under her skin. In our conversation we talked about the choice to give in to the frustration and emotion or choose self- control. She has given her life to the Lord so I encouraged her, even at 10 to yield to the control of the Holy Spirit and not her emotions. As she learns to walk in this power she is an example to her brothers and those around her.

This power is not our own power but God’s power working in us through the Holy Spirit.
Galatians 5:22-23 lists the evidences or fruit of God’s Spirit in us and one is self- control. It is interesting that it is listed after, love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness and gentleness. Do you think God is showing us we need self-control, being controlled by the Holy Spirit to display and act on these other qualities?

For example:
Love-we can know about it and desire to show it and with self- control we can live out that selfless love. We can only love because God first loved us!

In Christ we have joy and peace. We need to believe and act upon that fact even if our heart is breaking, we don’t understand what is happening, are restless and just want to hide or give up. When we chose to act upon self- control, God’s grace is evident and powerful in our lives. When we want to panic and fall apart self-control holds us together so we can turn to the Lord, trust Him and have rest in His joy and peace.

When we are impatient, unkind or angry and want to have our own way self- control enables us to be patient, kind and gentle to those around us.

2 Peter 1:3 it tells us that God’s divine power has given us everything pertaining to life and godliness. So remember it is His power working in and thru us, we can’t do it all in our own strength. We must act upon what we have already been given.

The next time something really begins to irritate you, remember “I have a choice”- either handle it in my own strength which usually means not such great results or in the power of the Holy Spirit within me, showing self-control resulting in love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness and faithfulness.

“Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think according to the power that works within us, to Him is the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen” (Ephesians 3:20-21)

I would love to connect with you on Facebook, Email or Twitter. The links are on the sidebar!

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

4 Responses to Self Control

  1. Maranne123 says:

    Very good Kim! I can really relate to all. Self-control is hard….with Christ I can do all things through Him who strengthens me. ( Phil. 4:13 ) Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as unto the Lord rather than for men. (Col. 3:23 ) I love Gal. 5:22-23 ) Things often get tough at times, but I remember I can do all through Christ….who strengthenes me, things I have to do is unto Christs and the fruits of the Spirit…love,joy,peace,self-control,kindness,goodness,faithfulness & Thank you for you new blog.

    • kimlenon says:

      Shirley, Mom- thank you for your comments and the verses that remind us it is all for and to Him and we can do it through His strength.

      Love you!

  2. Cathy says:

    Very good observation!! I appreciate your thoughts on this, Kim! What a blessing!

Leave a Reply

