The Names Of God Study- I Am

The-Names-of-God-560x374 title page 2

Welcome to the Names of God Bible study.
The names of God reveal the character of God, His attributes and His nature. To know His names is to know Him, to take rest and comfort in Him. These studies are just a taste on the names of God. Hopefully it will give you some help and a desire to dig deeper into His attributes that you want to learn more about. I am looking forward to learning and discussing together!

Please share your insights on the blog and also connect with me on Facebook; I would love to hear from you!

We have looked at six names so far which are in the archives:
Elohim -He is the Creator and we have been created to have purpose and meaning in our lives to give Him glory.
El Elyon- God Most High who is sovereign and in total control and we can place our confidence and trust in Him. We can accept our circumstances that He has allowed to bring about our highest good and His greatest glory.
El Roi- the God who sees. When you are going through trials He sees and knows what you are going through.
El Shaddai- God Almighty-All Powerful-All Sufficient- He is mighty to save!
Jehovah –jireh: The Lord will provide- He is the self-existent and keeps His covenant. He sees, foresees and knows all and is able to provide what is needed.
Adonai- Lord, Master and Owner

Today we will look at I AM.
Read Exodus 3:1-15

What is the setting of this passage?
What drew Moses to the bush?
Who was in the bush?

From verses 1-6 how do we know this was not a typical angel?

1. Fire is a sign of God’s presence throughout the book of Exodus. In chapter 13:21-22 He is the pillar of fire and cloud leading and protecting the Israelites. In 19:18, fire is God’s presence on Mount Sinai and in the tabernacle in verses 40:38.
2. Moses said in verse 4, “God called to him from the midst of the bush” and verse 6 he identified himself.
3. He was told to take off his sandals because he was standing on holy ground. Only God’s presence makes a place holy.
4. Moses hid his face because he could not look at God.
This angel is clearly different from all others in scripture. We saw that Hagar met this angel in the desert when we looked at El Roi-the God who sees. When we looked at Jehovah jireh, Abraham heard the angel of the Lord’s voice on Mount Moriah to not kill his son then the sacrifice was provided. Jacob spent all night wresting with the angel of the Lord and he was forever changed.

Scripture indicates that this angel of the Lord is Jesus!

Read verses 7-15
What was life like for the Israelites?
List what the LORD says and what He will do:
In verses 11 & 13 what was Moses response to God?
What did God tell him in 12, 14-15?
In verse 12 what will be the sign God tells Moses?

God keeps His promises and this should always lead to worship of Him!

I AM WHO I AM!
This name shows He is the only true God. He is personal, eternal, unchangeable, covenant keeping, self -existent and self-sufficient! He is letting them know he is different from all the other gods in Egypt. Everyone and everything is dependent on Him and His sovereignty!

Does this change your view of who God is?

Knowing God by His Name should make us tremble and realize who we are and how much we need Him. We can’t make Him into the type of god we want, one to meet all our needs, is politically correct or make us feel better about ourselves. He is I Am and is to be worshiped!

In verse 3:15 what does God tell Moses to tell the people?
How long were they to remember him by this name?

This rescue of His people from bondage is a picture of our eternal rescue from the bondage of sin and it is brought about by Jesus’s sacrifice.

When Jesus began to say who He was by using this name, it made the people angry because He was claiming to be God. To them is was a blasphemy and they wanted to kill Him.

Jesus, saying “I Am” revealed He is God and that he is the only way to rescue.
Look up the following verses and list who Jesus says he is:
John 6:51
John 8:12
John 10:9
John 10:11
John 11:25
John 14:6
John 15:1
John 18:4-6
(For further study there are some studies on some of the I Am’s statements of Jesus in the archives)

God called Moses to deliver His people out of bondage and showed him He is I Am. Jesus, I Am, came to suffer, die and rise again for our deliverance from the bondage of sin and death.

There is still a future deliverance to come! We have been delivered from the bondage of sin and death but are still fighting the flesh daily. We look to the day when we will be with the Lord forever in the new heaven and new earth when He comes again for the final deliverance of the earth and His people; 1 Thessalonians 4:16-18 and Revelation 21:1-6.

Praise and worship I AM WHO I AM!

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

4 Responses to The Names Of God Study- I Am

  1. Maranne123 says:

    Very good Kim! I read through it today, but want to study more when I get home from my Dr. appt. (2:15) Also a Sears repair man is coming today between 8-12 to repair my front stove burner…..so I have a busy day. Hope you are feeling ok. I’m fine, just tired today. Love you! oxox

  2. Esther Joy says:

    Wow! This is an in-depth blog about what I’ve been posting for a couple of years. Almost 20 years ago there was an accident in front of me as we were on the way to a wake for my father. I lost two brothers and a sister in that accident. Four months later my parents home burned to the ground, then a month after that my mom died. In the aftermath of grief I began studying the names of God, getting to know Him and His character through His Names – and He gave me much comfort by revealing Himself to me through His names. I began writing His names and titles on poster board, and after filling three of them felt that He wanted me to share them in some way. I began painting His names on rocks, because I felt if I didn’t speak up, “the rocks would cry out”! I lined my little garden area, gave them away to friends, and entered them in the county fair. After I wrote a book about going through grief, my publisher suggested I start a blog. I wondered what I would blog about, …and God brought my attention to the rocks I had painted His names on. I look forward to “comparing notes” on what God has been teaching us!

    Blessings!

    • kimlenon says:

      Hi Esther! Thank you for your comments and sharing your journey! I look forward to reading your blog! My hope and prayer is the names of God studies will give some insight and create a desire to know God more. The more we are in the Word and learn of Him, the more we want to know.
      I look forward to connecting with you on Facebook too, you can find me at facebook.com/kimlenon.livinginsideout.

      Blessing,
      Kim

  3. My blog is through Google, so I’m not sure you can find it by clicking on my name above, so I’ll sign in again with my FaceBook account. Esther Joy

Leave a Reply

