Be Amazed

amazed by greatness

What do you think of when you hear the word “amazed”?
The definition: to fill somebody with wonder or astonishment.
Synonyms: astonish, astound, shock, stun, startle, surprise, flabbergast, dumbfound, stagger

There are things that amaze me:
I am amazed by God and how He works in our lives.
I am amazed at my family and how God is using each of them in a special way.
I am amazed that we have 5 grandchildren with a 6th due soon.
I am amazed when I am attending the birth of a new baby as a Doula and most recently the beautiful home birth of our newest grandson.
I am amazed when I see what is happening in our country and culture.
I even think of songs, for example: “Amazed” by Lonestar, with the lyrics, “every little thing that you do, baby I’m amazed by you” (doesn’t every woman want to hear those words.)
The most loved classic hymn Amazing Grace is always a favorite.

I recently read this quote by John Piper that had me thinking about another aspect of being amazed:
“A godly life is lived out of a heart astonished at grace. Amazing grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. We go to the Bible to be astonished. We go to the Bible to be amazed at God, and amazed at Christ, and amazed at the cross, and amazed at grace, and amazed at the gospel. And when we are stunned and amazed and humbled we walk out of our study or out of our chair, wherever we are having devotions, and there’s a spirit and a flavor about us that makes us a better person at the kitchen table and when we go to work. “

This quote has me asking have I been amazed at God in my time with Him and His word. I love His word. I love to study and teach it and help others to do the same. BUT have I spent my time with Him amazed or rushed through it and on to something else?

It has been both at different times. I want to consistently approach and be amazed at Him, Christ, the cross, grace and the gospel. I want to continue transforming and make a difference in my life and those around me.

When we stop and think how we who were dead and without hope have been rescued by God and brought to life into relationship with Him, and He speaks to us through His word- IT IS AMAZING!

I don’t want to take God for granted. I don’t want my time with the Lord to be the thing to do or a have to. I want to sit at His feet, learn of Him, be taught by Him, and BE AMAZED!

I would love to connect with you on Facebook, Email and Twitter. The links are on the sidebar.

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

8 Responses to Be Amazed

  1. Maranne123 says:

    This is a wonderful post! God is using you in a special way to help others to know Him. All you wrote about is so amazing! Keep up the good work God has given you. Love you very much!!

  2. I love that quote! I too want to be struck with wonder and amazement at the glory of God. And may it so move me that it shows to those around me. Enjoyed this post, Kim!

  3. Great reminder to linger in the Word today! Thanks – glad to link up near you at GraceLaced! Have a blessed Monday!

  4. He is an amazing God! So thankful that He loves to surprise us. 🙂

  5. This has been one of the greatest things about having kids. I’ve truly learned to ‘see’ through their eyes. The wonder they show over Bible stories that I’ve heard hundreds of times has helped me view them as if I’ve never heard them before. Thanks for linking up with me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

