Grace and Peace

30745_philippians_t_sm

This year in my quiet time I am reading through and studying Paul’s letters. I am starting with Philippians and from time to time I will share with you and offer some encouragement from God’s word as we follow Christ.

One thing I have noticed from reading his letters over the years is that Paul greets his readers with “grace and peace”. Sometimes it so easy to quickly read over what we think are simple words to get to the “meat” of the text. As I began to slowly read and observe (thanking God for my Precept training) I kept coming back to grace and peace. These are not simple words and just a way to greet someone in a letter. I did a word study, (I love my Key Word Study Bible and http://www.blueletterbible.org) and am amazed at the depth of Paul’s greeting and meaning of these 2 little words.

I want to encourage you with this greeting from Paul and may we encourage each other.

May God’s holy influence upon your souls that first turned you to Christ, keep, strengthen and increase your faith. May you grow in your knowledge, faith and love to enable you to live your Christian life.
May His peace which is the safety, security and tranquil state of your soul through Jesus Christ assure you of your salvation.
(Philippians 1:2-based upon definitions of grace and peace)

As we are on this journey of living Inside Out, we need to rest in the grace and peace of God and extend it to others.
I would love for you to join me as I go through Philippians this year and share your insights.

Grace and Peace!

I would love to connect with you through Facebook, Twitter and Email with the links on the sidebar.

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

3 Responses to Grace and Peace

  1. Christina says:

    What gospel richness in three words! Thanks for sharing this! Praying that I won’t pass over such nuggets when I read Scripture. Blessings!

  2. Grace and Peace! I need these two words every second as a mom!

  3. Love this focus, Kim! A friend just told me this week that her pastor preached last Sunday on Grace. His conclusion is that we need to ask God daily for His Grace because without it, we simply cannot do it on our own! Grace for the day! What a privilege that we can approach our God in this way each day! Blessings to you, Kim!

Leave a Reply

