Attitude Check

30745_philippians_t_sm

As I continue through Philippians 1:12-26 I am convicted and encouraged by Paul’s example, attitude and view of his circumstances. Paul was imprisoned for preaching the gospel, some were preaching to cause him envy and strife while he was in prison and he also longed to be with Christ.

Paul’s only attitude and thought about his circumstances was for God’s glory and that the gospel is preached. He rejoiced because his imprisonment furthered the gospel and had become well known. He rejoiced because Christ was being proclaimed, no matter what the motives of others were.
His joy was not tied to his circumstances or his critics.
His joy and desire was for Christ, to be with Him, but also knowing that God had him where He wanted him. Paul was God’s witness to those outside of Christ and for those in the church.

The way Paul followed Christ and lived his life helped others to be bold and not fearful to speak the word of God. They saw what was happening to Paul and they knew it could happen to them but they were not fearful-their goal was that Christ was preached!

I have to ask myself:
Do I rejoice in circumstances I don’t like?

Is my goal and desire that Christ is exalted in everything or do I complain, become apathetic and want to give up at the slightest discomfort?

Is the gospel forefront in my thoughts and actions and do I share it without fear?

I want to check my attitude, to be aware if it is not exalting Christ.
I want to be like Paul and rejoice in everything with the goal that Christ is exalted.
This is not something I can drum up in myself. It comes from my relationship with Christ-to know Him and the Word.
I am so thankful that God is at work to make me into the woman He wants me to be.
“For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus” (Philippians 1:6)

As I follow Him, He leads the way, guiding me to change my attitude, enabling me to be joyful, courageous, stronger and not fearful to live for Christ.

I would love to connect with you on Facebook, Twitter and Email-the links are on the sidebar.

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

One Response to Attitude Check

  1. Christina says:

    Philippians 1:6 is a favorite of mine and reminds me that he is always at work in me, even when I stumble and fail. May he work in me to have a heart like Paul’s. Thanks, Kim!

Leave a Reply

