Worthy Conduct

phil-1-27

Continuing my study through Philippians 1:27-2:13, I am reminded that Paul said to “conduct yourselves in a manner” (NASB) or “let your manner of life be” (ESV) worthy of the gospel of Christ” (Philippians 1:27)

In other words he is saying that as believers we should live with integrity. Our lives are to be consistent with what we believe, teach and preach because we have been changed by the gospel. God brought us into relationship with Him through Jesus Christ and our daily lives are to reflect that change.

How should this look in our lives? In verses 1:27-2:11 Paul give us a pretty good description.
As believers we are to stand firm in our faith, living in unity and striving together to spread the gospel. We are stronger together and with this unity we are not to be alarmed or fearful by those who are against us.

Paul tells us that not only has God granted us the ability to believe, but to also suffer for him. He stresses the importance of unity and living out the purpose God called us to-sharing the gospel.

We are to do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, to bring honor and glory to ourselves. We are to be humble in our thinking and actions. This will result in having more regard for others than ourselves, looking after them, putting ourselves last.

As always, Jesus is our example and we are to have his attitude- humility, selflessness and serving others.

Can we live this way by our own strength and will? I know in and of myself I can’t. Oh I may try for a while but I always will fail. I can only live a worthy life because I have been changed by Christ and the Holy Spirit lives inside of me guiding and directing but I still have the flesh and the selfish desires it creates.

In my own strength, in my flesh I get alarmed when someone is against me and those old insecurities creep in. My one purpose is not to share the gospel or allow fear to get in the way. Suffer for Christ-No Thank You! I want everything to go smooth. I don’t always put others needs ahead of mine. I can feel hurt or excluded from people or situations when I think others don’t care to be with me or everyone is getting together and not asking us, etc… It doesn’t take too long before sinful thoughts invade and flesh start to take over my actions.

That’s why I love Philippians 1:6 “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus” and Philippians 2:13 “for it is God who is at work in you both to will and to work for His good pleasure”

God brought me into relationship with Him, forgives my sin, and enables me to “conduct myself in a manner worthy of the gospel”. God, my Father does the work in me and is renewing me into the women He wants to use.

He changes my heart to know I am His daughter so there is no need to be fearful. I can count it a joy and be willing to suffer for Him because He has my best interest. When those lies and thoughts enter and I have doubts and feelings of loneliness, I can reach out to others, thinking of them instead of myself. Because I have been forgiven much, I want to freely share the gospel with others.

He enables me to live a life that will display His glory and show Jesus is Lord!

On this journey of Living Inside Out I would love to connect with you by email, Facebook or Twitter. The links are on the side bar.

30745_philippians_t_sm

About kimlenon
Welcome to Inside Out! I desire to offer encouragement and resources to help women live their lives Inside Out because God changes us from the Inside Out! I have been married to Dave for 39 years. We have 3 children and 8 grandchildren. My passion is to teach women how to study and apply God's Word.

Leave a Reply

